Did you know that you can collaborate with co-workers using the briefcase?




Simply share a briefcase folder, and members of your project team can:



  • Upload files

  • Download files

  • Check files in/out

  • Manage versions of files


Checking Files In/Out 


Project team members can collaborate on files by checking a file out, making edits as needed, and checking the updated file back in.


While the file is checked out, users will see a lock icon. This prevents multiple users from making changes to the file simultaneously.


check_files_in_out_2015 Dec


Note: You must have a share to the briefcase folder to check files in/out.



  • To check a file out of the briefcase, right-click the file and select Check Out File.


check_files_in_out_4_2015 Dec


The lock icon shows that this file is now locked and others cannot check the file out for editing.



  • To check a file back into the briefcase, right-click the file and select Check In File. If you did not change the file, select Discard Check Out.


check_files_in_out_2_2015 Dec


 


You will be prompted to add notes about the version you are uploading.


check_files_in_out_3_2015 Dec


Managing File Versions


You will see each version of the file listed in the briefcase.



  • To manage file versions, right-click on any early version and select Restore as Current Version.


check_files_in_out_6_2015 Dec